Car Accident Without Insurance Not at Fault Colorado (2024)

Car Accident Without Insurance

Colorado law requires all drivers to have vehicle insurance that includes specific types of coverage. When a car accident happens, the at-fault driver is liable for any damages they cause to others. However, many drivers throughout the United States do not have vehicle insurance, or they do not have policies that provide the minimum amount of coverage required. If you were recently injured in a car accident that another driver caused, and you and/or the other driver do not have insurance, this can easily raise many questions and concerns for you as you determine the best way to recover.

The car accident lawyers at the Law Firm of Jeremy Rosenthal have extensive experience with all types of car accident claims, including those that involve uninsured and underinsured drivers. It’s vital to know what to do if you and/or the other driver lack appropriate insurance coverage and how to recover from your damages when a suitable insurance claim payout isn’t a guarantee.

Auto Insurance Requirements

Every state that upholds a fault rule for resolving car accidents requires drivers to have vehicle insurance with liability coverage. In Colorado, a basic auto insurance policy that satisfies these minimum coverage requirements must include the following:

  • $25,000 or more in bodily injury liability coverage per person injured in an accident caused by the policyholder. This coverage must include at least $50,000 in total accident liability coverage for bodily injuries to all persons in an accident caused by the policyholder.
  • $15,000 or more in property damage liability coverage, which can be used to pay for the victim’s vehicle repair or replacement costs.

The state also strongly encourages drivers to purchase additional uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage with their policies. Though not strictly required by state law, this form of coverage is invaluable if an uninsured or underinsured driver causes an accident with you. If you have this type of coverage, you can file a claim against your own insurance policy for some initial compensation.

It is important for all drivers to know that if you are caught driving without appropriate insurance coverage, the state recommends a $500 minimum fine, and you will have your driver’s license suspended until you can present proof of insurance coverage to the state Division of Motor Vehicles.

Filing an Auto Insurance Claim

If you sustained injuries in an accident, and another driver is to blame, you can file a claim against their insurance policy to recover your losses. However, it is best to have an experienced attorney assist you with these recovery efforts. Your attorney can not only help you file your claim but also resolve any disputes that could arise with the insurance carrier. In the event the at-fault driver does not have vehicle insurance as required by state law, your attorney can assist you in filing a personal injury claim against them.

When you are able to file an insurance claim after an accident, your attorney can review the terms of the policy in question and help you draft the demand letter to the insurance company. Once an insurance company representative notices that a policyholder has legal counsel, they will be inclined to process the claim swiftly in good faith. Your attorney will be invaluable for resolving any issues that arise with your claim, such as any unethical handling of your claim from the insurance carrier, resolving lowball settlement offers, or unjustified rejections on your behalf.

It’s important to remember that if you have the ability to file an insurance claim after a car accident, there is no guarantee that the claim will yield appropriate compensation for your losses. Many injured victims must pursue personal injury claims in addition to or in lieu of their auto insurance claims, and the right attorney can help you maximize the results you see from these recovery efforts.

FAQs About Colorado Car Accidents Without Insurance Not at Fault

What Happens If an Uninsured Driver Causes an Accident in Colorado?

If an at-fault driver does not have any auto insurance, the injured driver can file a claim against their own auto insurance policy if they have underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage. If not, the injured driver could file a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver. Your attorney can advise you as to how to best proceed after an uninsured driver causes an accident.

What Happens If I Don’t Have Insurance and Another Driver Causes an Accident?

Colorado law requires all drivers to have appropriate auto insurance coverage that meets the state’s minimum coverage requirements. If another driver caused an accident with you and you do not have vehicle insurance, you can still file a claim against their auto insurance policy and/or make a personal injury claim to recover your damages. You may face a penalty for lacking appropriate insurance, and your attorney can provide guidance as to how to handle this if so.

Is Colorado a No-Fault State for Auto Accidents?

No, the state upholds a fault rule for resolving car accidents. This means all drivers must have appropriate liability coverage in their auto insurance policies, and the driver who causes an accident is liable for the resulting damages. If there is any question regarding liability for an auto accident, it is vital for the victim to seek reliable legal counsel from an experienced attorney as soon as possible.

Should I Hire an Attorney to Help Me Recover From an Accident With an Uninsured Driver?

Reliable legal counsel is an incredibly valuable asset for any victim of a motor vehicle accident. Your legal team can assist you in handling all the insurance-related issues you face regardless of your coverage or that of the at-fault driver. When you cannot rely on insurance to recover, your attorney will be essential for filing a successful personal injury claim.

Navigating the aftermath of any car accident will be much easier with an experienced attorney on your side. If you have insurance-related questions after an accident caused by another driver in Colorado, the Law Firm of Jeremy Rosenthal is ready to provide you with answers and guidance during this difficult situation. Get in touch with us today to set up a consultation and find out how we can empower your recovery efforts.

Office Location

  • Denver
  • Arvada
  • Aurora
  • Boulder
  • Brighton
  • Colorado Springs
  • Lakewood
  • Westminster
  • Wheat Ridge

Put my knowledge and expertise to work for you. Contact my office today to discuss your case in a free consultation.